2020 Homer Foundation Scholarships

$32,500 Awarded to Area Students

The Homer Foundation has awarded nineteen scholarships totaling $32,500 to area students. These scholarships are supported by permanent endowments administered by the Homer Foundation and would not be possible without the vision and generosity of community donors. Since the Foundation began administering scholarships in 2000, it has awarded 289 individual scholarships totaling $335,990.

“These scholarships have value well beyond the monetary. It also sends the important message to each recipient and their family: ‘You have a future and we believe in you. ”

said Homer Foundation Executive Director Mike Miller

The success of the Foundation’s scholarship program depends on our school counselors, like Homer High School counselor Paul Story and staff who are on the front line, connecting students to scholarship applications, and the dozens of volunteers who made up these committees, sharing their time and expertise to read and rate applications, assuring a fair and equitable selection process.

Because of the donors who had the vision to establish these scholarships, and the community members that continue to support them, these endowed funds will be here to support the education of our youth far into the future. Tax exempt donations to support these scholarships, or any of the 68 funds managed by the Foundation, are appreciated and put to work in our community. Contact Mike Miller for more information: mikemiller@homerfoundation.org

Congratulations to the 2020 recipients:

Homer Community Science Scholarship: for post-secondary education in the life sciences.  The fund was established by retired Homer High School Science teacher, Stan Eller, and is supported by community donations.

Homer High School students: Ruby Allen, $1,250, Abigail Middleton, $1,000, and Rio Shemet Pitcher, $750

Alain and Daniel Rieser Scholarship:  established in memory of Alain and Daniel Rieser, it provides for a travel award or college tuition to a graduating senior with a flair for foreign language and/or interest in foreign cultures/travel. 

Anthony Melkomukov, Homer High School, $3,000

Drew Scalzi Memorial Maritime Scholarship:  established in memory of Drew Scalzi. The underlying philosophy of the scholarship is to nurture young adults pursuing their careers in the maritime field or who are from local fishing or maritime families.

Jacob Clark, Ninilchik School $1,000, and Amber Bridgeman, Kenai Peninsula College $1,000

Health Care Providers Scholarship:  established by local health care providers to support local students committed to pursuing a career in a health care field. May be awarded upon high school graduation, or later in their educational career.

Homer High School students: Megan Kirsis, class of 2016, $3,000 and Ruby Allen, class 2020, $1,000

Kenai Peninsula College, Kachemak Bay Campus student: Amber Bridgeman, $1,000

Beluga Tail Non-Fiction Writing Scholarship: rewards graduating seniors that demonstrate exemplary skills in non-fiction writing. 

Homer High School Students: Ruby Allen, $3,000, and Anthony Melkomukov, $3,000

Kachemak Bay Medical Clinic Scholarship:  established by Dr. Paul Raymond to provide financial assistance to a public high school graduating senior in the greater Homer area who has best exemplified academic excellence, community and/or school service, and a strong work ethic. 

Autumn Carlson, Homer Flex School, $2,000

Nikki Geragotelis (Fry) Memorial Scholarship:  This scholarship was established by the family and friends of Nikki in honor of the life she lived. The goal of the scholarship is to keep Nikki’s memory alive by helping students continue their education. Throughout her life Nikki had a “walk-on” spirit. A recipient is selected that exemplifies her sportsmanship, athleticism, integrity, friendliness, and hard-working nature, giving their best every time they step on the field whether at practice or for a game.

Homer High School students: Colby Marion, $5,000, and Abigail Middleton, $1,000

Heather Pancratz Memorial Scholarship:  The communities of the Southern Kenai Peninsula lost a valuable educator in 2017. This scholarship was established to keep alive Heather’s commitment to her students and home community of Nikolaevsk. Heather is remembered for her belief in a loving God from which flowed compassion, love and a faithful devotion to family, friends, students and community. The Fund will continue her legacy through its support to students who exemplify Heather’s critical thinking, respectful questioning, and lifelong learning approach to life.

Nikoleavsk School students: Sophia Klaich, $500, and Zachary Trail, $500

Sutton James Miller Memorial Scholarship:  This scholarship was established in the memory of Sutton James Miller, of Homer, Alaska. In his short 6 months on the Earth, he showed a willingness to strive to learn new skills, excelled greatly in all areas of development, had an amazing love for people around him, and a standout attitude, which made an everlasting impression on those who met him. Everyone’s life was touched by his standout presence, and remembers his giggle, sparkle in his blue eyes, as well as his heart-melting smile. Sutton James’ name will forever live in the Homer community, via this scholarship, becoming an everlasting legacy where he will give a graduating senior a head start in their next step in furthering their education. Candidates show ambition, giving their absolute best while staying positive, have a passion for life, and show strength while pursuing their best life. This scholarship may be used at a 4 year, 2 year or vocational school within Alaska.

Anthony Melkomukov, Homer High School, $1,000

Fish & Wildlife Scholarship:  This scholarship was created by Steve Albert who is a resident of Homer. Steve dedicated his life to Fish and Wildlife management for the State of Alaska. The intent is to support Homer area students in pursuit of higher education in wildlife or fisheries biology or management, with a preference for students planning on working in Alaska.

Autumn Carlson, Homer Flex School, $2,000

Nursing Studies Scholarship:  This scholarship was established to celebrate the memory of Eileen Albert. Eileen was a nurse throughout her life in Alaska, primarily as a school nurse practitioner, as well as a mentor within her field. This scholarship is intended to honor her love of nursing and to support students who are seeking this profession.

Annali Metz, University of Alaska Anchorage, $1,500