$21,550 Awarded to Area Students

The Homer Foundation has awarded eighteen scholarships totaling $21,550 to Homer area students. These scholarships are supported by permanent endowments administered by the Homer Foundation and would not be possible without the vision and generosity of community donors.
“These scholarships have value well beyond the monetary. It is the message we send to each recipient: ‘We believe in you,’ ” explains Homer Foundation Executive Director Joy Steward.
The success of the Foundation’s scholarship program depends on volunteers. Notably Homer High School counselor Lin Hampson who was on the front line, connecting students to scholarship applications. HF office volunteers Jane and Elaine processed packets for each of the review committees. The 30+ volunteers, who made up those committees, shared their time and expertise to read and rate applications, assuring a fair and equitable selection process.
Congratulations to the 2017 recipients(all students are Homer High School graduates except where notated):

Homer Community Science Scholarship: for post-secondary education in the life sciences.  The fund was established by retired Homer High School Science teacher, Stan Eller, and is supported by community donations.
Annali Metz $750
Katie Shank $500
Alain and Daniel Rieser Scholarship:  established in memory of Alain and Daniel Rieser, it recognizes a HHS graduating senior with a flair for foreign language and an interest in foreign cultures.
Juan Sarmiento $3000
Drew Scalzi Memorial Maritime Scholarship:  established in memory of Drew Scalzi. The underlying philosophy of the scholarship is to nurture young adults pursuing their careers in the maritime field or who are from local fishing or maritime families.
Megan Pitzman $1000
Sarah Fellows $1000
Health Care Providers Scholarship:  established by local health care providers to support local students committed to pursuing a career in a health care field.
Katie Shank $1000
Annali Metz $1000
Aziza Shemet Pitcher $2000 (2016 HHS graduate)
Beluga Tail Non-Fiction Writing Scholarship: rewards graduating seniors that demonstrate exemplary skills in non-fiction writing.
Juan Sarmiento $3000
Kachemak Bay Medical Clinic Scholarship:  established by Dr. Paul Raymond to provide financial assistance to a public high school graduating senior in the greater Homer area who has best exemplified academic excellence, community and/or school service, and a strong work ethic.
Katie Shank $2000
Ptarmigan Arts Visual Arts Scholarship:  Established by the member artists of Ptarmigan Arts Gallery to support aspiring young artists, either with college tuition support or purchase of art supplies or classes.
Audrey Rosencrans $1500
Koby Etzwiler (11th grade) $250
Maggie Box (11th grade) $250
Nikki Geragotelis (Fry) Memorial Scholarship:  This scholarship was established by the family and friends of Nikki in honor of the life she lived. The goal of the scholarship is to keep Nikki’s memory alive by helping students continue their education. Throughout her life Nikki had a “walk-on” spirit. A recipient is selected that exemplifies her sportsmanship, athleticism, integrity and hard-working nature, giving their best every time they step on the field whether at practice or for a game.
Mary Hana Bowe $1000
Bill and Liz Johnson Teacher Education Scholarship:  Bill and Liz Johnson both served as teachers and mentors to many students in the community. They were always willing to help give a leg up to any student willing to work hard. The Bill and Liz Johnson Teacher Education Scholarship Fund celebrates their memories, and their love of teaching by providing support to students choosing education as a career.
Johanna Allen $800
Diane Wambach “Shoot for the Stars” Scholarship:  This scholarship was established in memory of Diane Wambach by her family to encourage and support young adults willing to pursue their educational and career goals. Diane Wambach believed in people’s dreams and always encouraged her own children to shoot for the stars.   The fund provides for an annual award to support college or technical training program.
Valerie Rios $1000
Remi Nagel $500

Because of the donors who had the vision to establish these scholarships as permanent endowments, and the community members that continue to support them, these funds will be here to support the education of our youth in perpetuity. Tax exempt donations to support scholarships, or any of the 56 funds managed by the Foundation, are appreciated and put to work in our community. Contact Joy Steward for more information:  jsteward@homerfoundation.org